I'm a CS Masters student and I suck horribly at logic/math

A place to discuss the implementation and style of computer programs.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

CptSupermrkt

I'm a CS Masters student and I suck horribly at logic/math

Postby CptSupermrkt » Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:52 pm UTC

I have no idea how I got here. I didn't get a degree in CS as an undergraduate. A few years ago landed a "helpdesk" style job. In my downtime at the job, I picked up the "SQL for Dummies" book we had lying around. A co-worker introduced me to .NET at the same time. I put the two together and ended up creating the company intranet site for things like vacation day management, employee info, etc. It was horribly newbish, but it got the job done, and I learned a lot.

Fast forward a few years and I've somehow landed a job with double the salary of the previous, as Linux Systems Administrator (despite having no experience with Linux), along with a free tuition ride through grad school for CS. For what it's worth, I'm a straight-A student at the moment.

There's just one problem --- I feel like a complete fraud because I am absolutely incapable of logical and analytical thinking. I make the grades because I absolutely bust my ass memorizing specific sections of code, because I under no circumstances can "visualize" the problem and logically "work it out" by remembering and applying concepts. In a course that covered algorithms, I just had to memorize the code for each kind of search. I made an A because I have a decent memory, not because I actually understand the algorithms. If I made an A, surely that means I understand algorithms, right? No, I, for a short span of time, had dozens of lines of code dedicated to memory for the test. That test came and went, and now I remember nothing, except that "sorting and searching is kind of a big deal."