PHP and Javascript Tutorials

A place to discuss the implementation and style of computer programs.

Moderators: phlip, Prelates, Moderators General

PHP and Javascript Tutorials

Postby GrawSith » Mon Dec 31, 2007 2:50 am UTC

i enjoy coding, I'm only an amateur so far but it's been fun. Right now I'm messing with Python and Applescript, but I have a webserver all to myself (it's basically just a photo gallery and online dumpster right now), so I was wondering if Javascript or PHP would be good / easy to learn, and if you guys would know any good tutorials.
GrawSith

Re: Oh, the possibilites...

Postby arcoain » Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:12 am UTC

those are good to learn, and are unlikely to become dated soon. Depending on how anti-Microsoft you are, I would consider learning C#/ASP.NET; its a pretty powerful combo with a nice IDE. but yeah, PHP and javascript are good things to know. as for good tutorials, I would start with w3 schools ( http://www.w3schools.com/php/default.asp ) and move on from there.
arcoain
arcoain

Re: PHP and Javascript Tutorials

Postby Hammer » Mon Dec 31, 2007 2:35 pm UTC

IRT.org has a JavaScript FAQ that I've found very helpful over the years.
"What's wrong with you mathematicians? Cake is never a problem."
Hammer
Because all of you look like nails.

Postby pieaholicx » Mon Dec 31, 2007 3:02 pm UTC

I would highly suggest PHPFreaks for learning PHP.
It's okay, I'm Chaotic Neutral. I can kill him over the loot.
Overexposure to pieaholicx may, in semi-rare cases, emancipate dental fillings, crowns, tooth enamel, and teeth.
pieaholicx
The cake is a lie!

Postby MissingDividends » Tue Jan 01, 2008 2:57 am UTC

There are many great sites for learning php. My latest favorite is http://killerphp.com/.

I'm not sure if you already know html or not, but if not, http://htmldog.com is a useful site.
MissingDividends

Postby RaptorAttack » Tue Jan 01, 2008 10:17 pm UTC