Quick and simple style question

A place to discuss the implementation and style of computer programs.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

Gatesunder

Quick and simple style question

Postby Gatesunder » Sun Feb 24, 2008 9:47 pm UTC

So, I don't know why this just started bothering me. Perhaps it's like when you see a word printed on paper or the screen that you've known for your whole life and you look at it and suddenly it looks like it's spelled wrong or something when it's not.

This thing I speak of is the placement of data members and functions in a class I just started coding in C++. Normally I know that the data member are private or protected and the functions, most of the time, are public or protected, but I needed a private helper function and so I started coding and was like, "What the fudge? should I put this function above or below the data members in the private section?"

So what do you think? How do you usually style you're code? What, in this context, do you think looks more correct?

Code: Select all

class GenericClass
{
public:
           GenericClass();
           ~GenericClass();
private:
           int data1;
           int data2;
           int data3;

int helper();
};

or

class GenericClass
{
public:
           GenericClass();
           ~GenericClass();
private:
           int helper();

int data1;
           int data2;
           int data3;
};

My VB origins are picking the former while my C++ induced self is battling for the latter . . .
I'm wrong 99% of the time, but some day that 1% will be better than the rest ...

Aperfectring

Re: Quick and simple style question

Postby Aperfectring » Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:03 pm UTC

I honestly don't do so much in the way of C++ coding. I am much more of a C guy. However, when I do write C++, I tend to put the groups in this order: private, protected, public. I then put the members and member functions in the groups in that order.

class GenericClass
{
private:
   int data1;