Python with braces?

A place to discuss the implementation and style of computer programs.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

Magitek

Python with braces?

Postby Magitek » Tue May 20, 2008 11:53 pm UTC

I have very little experience with python, but have coded in many other languages before. I would love to use python, but I really miss those braces, the thought of whitespace with semantic value horrifies me (after a brief stint with the esoteric language of Whitespace). Is there a way to code in python with braces?

++$_
Mo' Money

Re: Python with braces?

Postby ++$_ » Tue May 20, 2008 11:59 pm UTC

No. Well, you could try this.

Seriously, whitespace is not significant in Python except at the beginning of a line. I have never once encountered a whitespace-related problem with Python. Never. Actually, I have fewer problems, because in C you can forget a closing brace and spend a few seconds trying to figure out where it's supposed to be. In Python, you never have that problem.

Jach

Postby Jach » Wed May 21, 2008 12:42 am UTC

In time you will come to love Python's indentation. =P If that somehow doesn't happen though, you could check out Ruby which is real similar to Python but sticks an end after everything.

My philosophy is that you're supposed to be indenting properly anyway, so it might as well mean something to the computer as well.
I love reading quotes.

r1chard

Postby r1chard » Wed May 21, 2008 1:17 am UTC

I have had a single instance of whitespace-related buggery (er ... buggery in the sense of ... fun-related-to-a-bug :)

It was due to line that had crept into the code that was indented with a tab, in code that was otherwise indented with spaces. It took me a while to figure out too.

That's once in over 10 years of Python programming.

Now I have vim highlighting in red all tabs that appear in source files:

Code: Select all

highlight BadWhitespace ctermbg=red guibg=red
au BufRead,BufNewFile *.py,*.pyw match BadWhitespace /^\t\+/