Book to Learn Java Suggestion

A place to discuss the implementation and style of computer programs.

Moderators: phlip, Prelates, Moderators General

Book to Learn Java Suggestion

Postby remuso » Sun Nov 14, 2010 5:57 pm UTC

Hello world,

I am working as a sysadmin and am thinking the world of "Working at Home" would be something I might like, no On-Call/Night work, holidays....... I graduated college about 18 months ago with a Mathematics degree, so I do not have a huge coding background. I've been shell scripting for years now and writing Python code for a little under a year.

What I would like is a Java book that is not so dumbed down that I will be bored... I know the basic layout of Java (ie. I could write a java program to do something basic). Ultimatly I am trying to avoid a book that assumes I know nothing about programming. And hey, if I like it, work will put me though more schooling.

Thanks
remuso

Re: Book to Learn Java Suggestion

Postby liar.paradox » Wed Jan 12, 2011 9:07 am UTC

Unfortunately, if you want to write Java code professionally, you will need to read several books. This is due to two factors. The Java technology is stack is DENSE. Second, since Java is primary deployed in the enterprise, you will need to be exposed (in short order) to Design Patterns, UML, Test-Driven Development, Refactoring, etc. You may be able to pick up the second after you get your first job, but most Java jobs will expect you to know (at a minimum) the Servlet/JSP APIs, JDBC, and some MVC framework. Most will add quite a bit more. It's not impossible to find a Java programming gig, but you have a few bridges to cross first.

1. Learn the Java language:

Thinking in Java by Bruce Eckel
    http://www.mindview.net/Books

Older editions are available online for free. The newest version is available in it's entirety in print.