[C++] Numeric data validation

A place to discuss the implementation and style of computer programs.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

tipo test

[C++] Numeric data validation

Postby tipo test » Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:03 pm UTC

Hi there I'm new on C++, I have some previous experience with other languages, all of them interpreted. If I wanted to read a number from keyboard for example, I'd declare a string, then check if it has numeric format and then convert that string to an int/double/whatever. 'Numeric' format includes of course negative numbers and decimal points... I'd have no problem on writing my own function for this (apparently there's no such thing on the standard C/C++ libraries?) but apparently converting strings etc is VB-like thinking, how do you read your stuff then?

edit - thanks in advance!

Sagekilla

Re: [C++] Numeric data validation

Postby Sagekilla » Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:26 pm UTC

I don't know who told you that "converting strings into numbers" is VB-like thinking, since that's a pretty standard thing.

I would create a getNumeric() function, that's what I did when I took my C++ class at my uni. I wrote something along these lines:

Code: Select all

bool getNumeric(double &num)
{
    string data;
    cin >> data;

bool isValid = do_check_here(data);

if (isValid)
    {
        num = atof(data);
        return true;
    }

else
        return false;
}

You can use exceptions too, it's up to you.

Then you can just create different signatures for if you want a float, int, long, etc.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DSV_Alvin#Sinking wrote:Researchers found a cheese sandwich which exhibited no visible signs of decomposition, and was in fact eaten.

Yakk
Poster with most posts but no title.

Postby Yakk » Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:45 pm UTC

#include <sstream>
 double string_to_double( const std::string& s )
 {
   std::istringstream i(s);
   double x;
   if (!(i >> x))
     return 0;
   return x;
 }

From here: