O(you make baby Jesus cry)

A place to discuss the implementation and style of computer programs.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

Blatm

O(you make baby Jesus cry)

Postby Blatm » Sat Jul 23, 2011 4:52 am UTC

There is a simulation that I want to run, but because I am not very good at coding right now it runs in O(exp(exp(n))). Obviously this makes my code completely useless for anything other than very small n. Hopefully some people here will be able to help me come up with some more reasonable runtimes.

The program solves a math problem by checking every possible group element of a free group "less than a certain length" for a certain property. In not-so-mathy: my elements are "strings" (not strings in the programming sense) of a's, b's, c's, ... (n letters) and -a's, -b's, -c's, so stuff like a b -a -b c b a -b -a -c. That one I just wrote has "length 10", and also has the property I want (which I'll get to later).

The O(lol) problem comes from the fact that a) I know the length of the shortest elements that will have the property I want grows exponentially with the number of generators (letters), and b) the number of elements of length d for n generators is (2n+1)^d, so if I want to check every element that's O( n^exp(n) ) ~= O(exp(exp(n))) since log(n) won't be very big (I'm expecting to only need to look at single digit n's). The first problem, a), is just a fact of life I think. The second problem, b), is the one I want some help with. Right now I'm just nesting O(exp(n)) for loops, which is what is making baby Jesus cry, but maybe there's a way around that.