AI to play card game Briscola in 5

A place to discuss the science of computers and programs, from algorithms to computability.

Formal proofs preferred.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

mat.tia

AI to play card game Briscola in 5

Postby mat.tia » Wed Nov 19, 2014 1:40 pm UTC

Hi guys, I am doing a thesis for my bachelor degree and the idea is to build a multiagent platform to play the card game "Briscola in 5", featuring an artificial intelligence for a virtual player.
You can find the rules for the game on wikipedia; the peculiarity of the game is the fact that it is played in two teams by a total of 5 people. The teams can be made of 2 players vs the other 3, or 4 vs 1.
The formation of the teams is decided by an initial auction: the winner of the auction "calls" a card and whoever owns the card is teamed up with the person who called it; but the identity of the person is not declared. So, until the "called card" is played, only one person (the owner of the said card) knows for sure the roles of the other players, while others have to guess observing the other players' behaviour.

Now, I have an idea on how I would like to build an AI able to play (hopefully succesfully) the game, but I would appreciate some critics and advice - also because I am very inexpert in the fied of AI.

My idea:

Every player is an agent. It conducts the auction in a predefined, deterministic way: based on the distribution of the suits in his hand, and thieir rank, it matches them against a table that says either to keep bidding or to pass. Easy. (I have found tables of this sort online; if I have time I will reason on it and see if this phase needs improvement, but this is not the important part).

Then comes the game.
I thought of dividing the game into two phases: the first 3-4 hands and the last 4-5.

Each agent has a number of believes about:
1) how cards are distributed among players (for each player P, for each card C, how likely is for P to own C)