Coding and Chronic Pain Combo

A place to discuss the science of computers and programs, from algorithms to computability.

Formal proofs preferred.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

edsteen

Coding and Chronic Pain Combo

Postby edsteen » Tue Oct 06, 2015 8:34 pm UTC

Hi,
I am a College Freshman currently taking CS 101. My high school didn't offer CS classes, but through robotics since I was 7 years old, I was self taught in a C based language. I love CS, and it is my intended major. Unfortunately, I am also battling a chronic pain condition. Pain flare ups are making it so hard to figure out assignments, and get any work done. I have spent 5 hours over the past 2 days in the lab, staring at the screen, trying to write very basic functions but being unable to get my brain to move fast enough to figure out how to actually do anything with them. This is what I want to do with my life, but if I can't succeed in even the most basic class, what are the odds of me ever doing well? My class allows for extensions, and I have some through the Accessability program on campus, but I hate relying on them. I am not sure what I am even asking here anymore, but... any advice?

Derek

Re: Coding and Chronic Pain Combo

Postby Derek » Tue Oct 06, 2015 8:45 pm UTC

See a doctor?

edsteen

Postby edsteen » Tue Oct 06, 2015 8:49 pm UTC

As if it was that easy. I've seen probably 20+ doctors, taken every medication known to man... this pain isn't going away whether I like it or not. Stupid genes :(

schapel

Postby schapel » Wed Oct 07, 2015 4:50 pm UTC

Including cannabis? You might want to try a mindfulness-based approach.

Whizbang
The Best Reporter

Postby Whizbang » Wed Oct 07, 2015 5:34 pm UTC

I can't help with the pain, but I can recommend two awesome coding tutorial sites for beginners.

https://code.org/
https://www.codecademy.com

Izawwlgood
WINNING

Postby Izawwlgood » Wed Oct 07, 2015 7:38 pm UTC