Should I learn Lisp? And which dialect?

A place to discuss the science of computers and programs, from algorithms to computability.

Formal proofs preferred.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

LakatosIstvan

Should I learn Lisp? And which dialect?

Postby LakatosIstvan » Tue Jun 30, 2009 1:36 pm UTC

So hey guys. I'm an aspiring programmer/computer-scientist. I have fairly good knowledge of Python, Pascal, I recently started learning C/C++, and right now I starting to consider learning Lisp( or Fortran, but that's only a "backup plan"). I am fascinated that it is still used and mentioned in these days despite his(or is it her?) age. I guess it has much to offer. But I'm not entirely sure if I should try learning it, because I'm not entirely sure if I'll ever use it. Also, I'm a bit confused about Lisp dialects, and which one to choose as a starter.

So dear xkcd readers( some of which I also believe know Lisp and it's variants ), will you help me out?
Sir_Elderberry wrote:Cords are not just bendy cylinders. They are flexible, animate beings possessed by spirits whose intentions are beyond our ken. They are Cthulu's tentacles intruding on our reality.

stephentyrone

Re: Should I learn Lisp? And which dialect?

Postby stephentyrone » Tue Jun 30, 2009 3:02 pm UTC

LakatosIstvan wrote:So hey guys. I'm an aspiring programmer/computer-scientist. I have fairly good knowledge of Python, Pascal, I recently started learning C/C++, and right now I starting to consider learning Lisp

yes.

( or Fortran, but that's only a "backup plan").

Dear god, no.

I am fascinated that it is still used and mentioned in these days despite his(or is it her?) age. I guess it has much to offer. But I'm not entirely sure if I should try learning it, because I'm not entirely sure if I'll ever use it. Also, I'm a bit confused about Lisp dialects, and which one to choose as a starter.