Bees' brains and computers

A place to discuss the science of computers and programs, from algorithms to computability.

Formal proofs preferred.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

quantropy

Bees' brains and computers

Postby quantropy » Tue Oct 26, 2010 4:22 pm UTC

Don't you just love the media. Apparently bees can solve the travelling salesman problem, which keeps computers busy for days (http://news.google.com/news/story?ncl=d ... c=t&ned=uk)

And how many nodes did they test the bees on?

4 (http://www.journals.uchicago.edu/doi/abs/10.1086/657042)

Moose Hole

Re: Bees' brains and computers

Postby Moose Hole » Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:03 pm UTC

I'm a traveling salesman and I use bees instead of computers to navigate.

Yakk
Poster with most posts but no title.

Postby Yakk » Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:14 pm UTC