Can someone write me an algorithm?

For the discussion of math. Duh.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

Punkroc

Can someone write me an algorithm?

Postby Punkroc » Fri Apr 12, 2013 11:47 am UTC

I'm not good at math. I was lazy in high school and did the bare minimum to pass algebra II and then proceeded to go to an art school for a year (where I took no academics) and then drop that to become a medic in the military. I have a friend who was joking about creating an algorithm for The First Thing People Usually Notice About Me. It was a section on a dating site he was on. I've always thought it would be funny to write an actual algorithm for that and I went through every xkcd but couldn't find something similar to it. Anyone want to help me out?

Xanthir
My HERO!!!

Re: Can someone write me an algorithm?

Postby Xanthir » Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:59 pm UTC

What is "The First Thing People Usually Notice About Me", and what is it that you need help with developing?
(defun fibs (n &optional (a 1) (b 1)) (take n (unfold '+ a b)))

Izawwlgood
WINNING

Postby Izawwlgood » Fri Apr 12, 2013 8:18 pm UTC

A friend of mine is a web developer, and will periodically discuss programming woes as he's figuring things out. We have a running joke wherein I say "Just make a button that does that". You know, a button, to do the thing you want to do. How hard can it be?

By joke I mean 'makes him want to stab me'.
... with gigantic melancholies and gigantic mirth, to tread the jeweled thrones of the Earth under his sandalled feet.

Punkroc

Postby Punkroc » Fri Apr 12, 2013 8:23 pm UTC

Oh god. I was so drunk when I wrote this.