Fields of characteristic 2?

For the discussion of math. Duh.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

Farabor

Fields of characteristic 2?

Postby Farabor » Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:08 am UTC

So, I'm a first semester grad student in mathematics, and in the course of my linear algebra class the professor messed up in the notes by not including the restriction that a bunch of the theorems for a vector space V over an arbitrary field F only held if the characteristic of the field is not 2. This has since been corrected, but it's raised the question in my mind....

Are there fields I'm already (or should be) aware of of characteristic 2? (Other than the trivial field of course). Is this an area of study? Are there interesting fields of char 2?

madaco

Re: Fields of characteristic 2?

Postby madaco » Fri Oct 04, 2013 5:20 am UTC

The nimbers have characteristic 2.

If you store a nimber in binary, the sum is xor-ing the two, and multiplying is some complicated thing I don't understand.

I only know this because someone linked here linked me to them when I was looking for a field where addition was fast.
I found my old forum signature to be awkward, so I'm changing it to this until I pick a better one.

Something Awesome

Postby Something Awesome » Fri Oct 04, 2013 11:24 am UTC

Every finite field of characteristic 2 looks like a direct sum of copies of Z/2Z. The field of rational functions over Z/2Z turns out to be an infinite field of characteristic 2.

Usually, somewhere in the proof of a theorem, you'll get something like "2x = 0, so x = 0 (and then conclude something is linearly independent or maybe some map is injective)," which isn't valid in characteristic 2. Fields of positive characteristic can be interesting, but they're often very hard to deal with because we lack a lot of the basic tools.

jestingrabbit
Factoids are just Datas that haven't grown up yet

Postby jestingrabbit » Fri Oct 04, 2013 12:37 pm UTC