Favorite math software (Numerical, graphical, or CAS)

For the discussion of math. Duh.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

What are your favorite or most often used mathematical software packages? Pick up to five.

MATLAB
17%
Mathematica
21%
Maple
15%
Mathcad
2%
Scientific Workplace/Notebook with MuPad Pro
No votes
MuPad Pro
No votes
MuPad Light (Formerly available free version)
1%
Maxima/XMaxima
5%
GNU Octave
5%
Scilab
1%
Other COMMERCIAL
3%
Other FREE
10%
I roll my own...(programming)
13%
No Selection (Just see poll results!)
6%

Total votes: 86

ks_physicist

Favorite math software (Numerical, graphical, or CAS)

Postby ks_physicist » Sun Dec 02, 2007 8:03 pm UTC

After answering the poll, maybe comment on what you use the software for. For example, I'm a physics teacher, and have a master's in physics. I learned on MATLAB, but have some experience in Mathematica, Maple, and Mathcad.

I'm now working on using free alternatives, since I can't expect my school to pop several thousand dollars for my lab on the software, when their curriculum does not specifically state "computational physics".

I'm just curious what various people use. (I did search, and saw no previous posts with the top five in them...)

Govalant

Re: Favorite math software (Numerical, graphical, or CAS)

Postby Govalant » Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:25 pm UTC

I use Matlab and programming. I usually program in haskell, but when I get some weird syntax error that I don't feel like fixing I use C.
Now these points of data make a beautiful line.

How's things?
-Entropy is winning.

headprogrammingczar

Postby headprogrammingczar » Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:22 am UTC