Statistics and time series

For the discussion of math. Duh.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Prelates, Moderators General

Statistics and time series

Postby Robin S » Wed Jul 16, 2008 6:06 pm UTC

I know I made a thread asking a statistics-related question a while back, but I think this is sufficiently unrelated that it deserves its own thread. Mods, if you see it differently, by all means merge them.

I have been keeping a diary for three years, of which the last half-year is typed, with each day's wordcount recorded in an Excel file. Over the course of the next year I plan to type up all of my old handwritten entries in readiness for (perhaps) posting old entries in a sort of "blog from the past", so I will end up with about 1500 data points. Already I have enough data to notice a few trends:

As expected for a random walk, the cumulative wordcount over time is fractal in nature. Curiously, on various scales it also seems to be fairly close to piecewise linear if the finer detail is ignored. This could just be my perception, but if not then I'd be interested to know what the significance is, if any.

The wordcount probability density function (considered independently of time) seems, so far, to be surprisingly close to uniform up to about 1250 (2/3 of data), and fairly close to uniform but with a lower density from there up to about 2000 (1/12 of data), with a couple of percent of entries longer than that and the rest empty, i.e. no entry written on that day. Again, I'm interested as to why this is. I would have expected a more bell-like distribution.

I'm also curious about how entry lengths on given days are dependent on those from previous days. In short, I'm interested in the various sorts of observations and predictions which could be made about the time series based on the data I have so far.