multiplicity of totient function

For the discussion of math. Duh.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

Quaternia

multiplicity of totient function

Postby Quaternia » Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:27 am UTC

[Pardon me if any term is undefined the way I wrote them in English. I've been doing math in French for several months now and it has gotten to me]

Hello all, a friend asked me if I knew of an easier proof of the multiplicity (for coprimes) of the totient function than the one his book was giving. (this isn't homework)
I figured that, given that monstrosity, even I could come up with one that was easier. I now realize the follies of my ways, but here is what I came up with. I think this works, but yeah...
I thought I'd post it if anyone's bored enough to check/comment upon. Thanks!

Let A be the set composed of the PRIME divisors of m, B be the set composed of the PRIME divisors of n. As m and n are relatively prime, A and B are disjoint.
Let [imath]p_1^a p_2^b ... p_x^z[/imath] be the decomposition of m into its prime factors.
Let [imath]\psi_1^\alpha \psi_2^\beta ... \psi_y^\zeta[/imath] be the decomposition of n into its prime factors.
So [imath]p_1^a p_2^b ... p_x^z\psi_1^\alpha \psi_2^\beta ... \psi_y^\zeta[/imath] is the decomposition of mn into its prime factors.
Since we can't form sets with repeated elements, but want to represent 2^3 as the three different elements {2, 2', 2''}, let us form two new sets:
Let [imath]A'[/imath] be a set with a+b+...+z elements. Let [imath]B'[/imath] be a set with [imath]\alpha + \beta + ... + \zeta[/imath] elements.

Let me introduce here the power set function, which I will denote [imath]P(x)[/imath]. The not-coprimes of m are all of the different partitions of the set A', the not-coprimes of n are all of the different partitions of the set B'.
By a known result in set theory, the cardinality of the power set of a set with x elements is 2^x.