"nontrivial subgroups" (terminology question)

For the discussion of math. Duh.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

skullturf

"nontrivial subgroups" (terminology question)

Postby skullturf » Fri Feb 11, 2011 10:05 pm UTC

If I have a group G and I say "consider its nontrivial subgroups" with no further explanation, what do I mean?

What are the "trivial subgroups" I'm ignoring?
(a) the group containing only the identity
(b) the group containing only the identity, and G itself.

A rather cursory Google search seems to indicate some degree of consensus. Do you think my question has a generally agreed-upon answer? Or do you think it's ambiguous?

z4lis

Re: "nontrivial subgroups" (terminology question)

Postby z4lis » Fri Feb 11, 2011 10:09 pm UTC

If you made it a poll, I would vote (b). But I'm also an undergraduate who's only had a year of algebra, so I'm certainly not in touch with current usage in the literature.
What they (mathematicians) define as interesting depends on their particular field of study; mathematical anaylsts find pain and extreme confusion interesting, whereas geometers are interested in beauty.

Harg

Postby Harg » Fri Feb 11, 2011 10:14 pm UTC

I'd say (a) is the usual meaning. You often see "proper notrivial subgroups" if you want to exclude (b).

theorigamist

Postby theorigamist » Fri Feb 11, 2011 10:23 pm UTC

The group consisting of a single element, {e}, is called the trivial group. Usually, nontrivial subgroup means subgroup not isomorphic to the trivial group (that is, (a)). Frequently, nontrivial subgroup is used to mean proper, nontrivial subgroup. You shouldn't worry too much about the distinction. If a problem just says "consider the nontrivial subgroups of G and prove X about them", then check if X is true of G itself. If not, then "nontrivial" means "proper and nontrivial" for the purposes of that problem.

Eebster the Great

Postby Eebster the Great » Mon Feb 14, 2011 2:11 pm UTC