Math REU 2011

For the discussion of math. Duh.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

math.py

Math REU 2011

Postby math.py » Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:44 pm UTC

Did you apply to undergrad math summer research programs this year? What programs did you apply to? Have you heard back from any?

This is my list

Math:
* Rochester Institute of Technology
* UNC Asheville
* Oregon State
* Cornell
* Grand Valley State
* Hope College
* Bard College
* James Madison University

Comp Sci:
* Binghamton University
* UMass - Amherst
* Washington State
* Harvey Mudd
* UIUC

I got waitlisted for James Madison but haven't heard from any other programs yet.

B.Good

Re: Math REU 2011

Postby B.Good » Thu Mar 10, 2011 4:18 am UTC

I applied to the math REU's for SUNY Potsdam and UNC Asheville because I am a freshman who just barely meets the requirements for being able to apply to an REU (finished calc and linear algebra, currently taking number theory) I don't have very many references and I really didn't want to bother them by having them send recommendation letters to 5 universities. Also because I am just barely eligible to apply, I realizes that my chances are quite low and I wouldn't want to get my hopes up multiple times every time I got a letter or something in the mail from the universities in question.

Marbas

Postby Marbas » Thu Mar 10, 2011 4:36 am UTC

Oh god I missed all the deadlines.

OH GOD IT IS MY JUNIOR YEAR.

Well...that sucks. Guess I'm not doing an research during my undergrad.
Jahoclave wrote:Do you have any idea how much more fun the holocaust is with "Git er Done" as the catch phrase?

mdyrud

Postby mdyrud » Thu Mar 10, 2011 6:44 am UTC