Probability - Hashing

For the discussion of math. Duh.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

YoungStudent

Probability - Hashing

Postby YoungStudent » Sat Apr 14, 2012 11:29 pm UTC

If you know the MD5 hash of 60 minute movie and you have the clip of it between 5th and 6th minute...how long would it take with current computing power to generate full movie from that knowledge?

Also if we would have Quantum Computers with extreme speed, couldn't all files get stored like that?

It's just an idea, i'm not very good at math so take it easy on me.

I find it interesting question.
Okay, quote me - We try to explain magic, presence of spirits and supernatural with science, which only explains 'the physical world' that we observe. It's like blind earthworm declaring that there is no light.

gmalivuk
GNU Terry Pratchett

Re: Probability - Hashing

Postby gmalivuk » Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:03 am UTC

YoungStudent wrote:If you know the MD5 hash of 60 minute movie and you have the clip of it between 5th and 6th minute...how long would it take with current computing power to generate full movie from that knowledge?
You couldn't. One minute of movie and a single MD5 hash aren't enough to reproduce an entire movie, because movies don't all have distinct hashes.
Unless stated otherwise, I do not care whether a statement, by itself, constitutes a persuasive political argument. I care whether it's true.
---
If this post has math that doesn't work for you, use TeX the World for Firefox or Chrome

(he/him/his)

Sagekilla

Postby Sagekilla » Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:57 am UTC

YoungStudent wrote:Also if we would have Quantum Computers with extreme speed, couldn't all files get stored like that?

Quantum computers are not as fast as you think they may be. They allow certain types of algorithms to be done
efficiently, but they won't be any faster than a normal computer.