Need help proving a variation on the halting problem

For the discussion of math. Duh.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

JTHM

Need help proving a variation on the halting problem

Postby JTHM » Sun Apr 22, 2012 6:43 am UTC

I'm a philosophy student working on a certain proof involving computability theory, and there's a lemma that I'm trying to prove which, if true, would almost finish the job for me. I hope that one of you better versed in theoretical computer science than I will be able to help me.

Specifically, what I need is a proof of the following statement: Given a non-empty set of tuples, each enumerating a specific Turing machine and some input string, no algorithm can always determine how many of those turing machines will halt for their associated inputs. Moreover, there are an infinite number of such undecidable input sets for every possible cardinality; e.g. among the sets containing one such tuple, an infinite number are undecidable, among the sets containing two such tuples, an infinite number are undecidable, and three, four, etc, all the way on to infinity. Finally, for all natural numbers n, an infinite number of sets of the form described above containing tuples containing n distinct Turing machines (as opposed to just distinct pairings of Turing machines and input strings, which would allow a set containing tuples which all contained the same Turing machine but with different inputs) are inputs for which this problem cannot be decided.