Soylent (not the people variety)

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

amylizzle

Soylent (not the people variety)

Postby amylizzle » Fri Mar 22, 2013 6:10 pm UTC

I did a bit of a search around the fora for this, but found no mention.

This guy has basically itemised the list of nutrients and minerals needed to keep a body alive, and made a drink out of them. He's then been living on that drink for a month, and is now replacing 98% of his meals with it.

I want to try this, and I've more or less figured out a method of recreating his version (I'm struggling to supply some of the trace elements), but is it a good idea?

It seems like it would be, but I'm a computer scientist with a passion for physics, not a biologist. Also, at a later date I'm thinking about adding some nootropics to the mix. Reservatol would also be awesome if it does what it did in mice, but that's a little under-researched to be safe right now.

speising

Re: Soylent (not the people variety)

Postby speising » Fri Mar 22, 2013 7:12 pm UTC

really? why would anyone forego the joy of eating? i can not understand the cost calculations either, i spend no more than maybe 100eur/month for eating, 600 seems far off for just sustaining (of course you can spend any amount in a good restaurant, but that slush does hardly seem a replacement for that)
also, i wonder how his digestion reacted. and the teeth.

amylizzle

Postby amylizzle » Fri Mar 22, 2013 7:55 pm UTC

I find I generally spend about £50 a week on food, not including restaurants/takeaways. From what I've sourced so far, I'm looking at about £22 per week, with an occasional full restock costing a further £66 on top.