Mixing things with different melting points

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

Envelope Generator

Mixing things with different melting points

Postby Envelope Generator » Thu Jan 28, 2016 6:51 pm UTC

This is surely a very elementary thing but I have no knowledge of physics at all! I need to make a mixture of two waxes that have different melting points somewhere in the 40-80°C range. Melting them down and stirring the resulting liquid is something that even I can manage, but how do I ensure that, once cooled down, the resulting solid has an even consistency? Won't the wax with the higher melting point solidify first and separate from the wax with the lower melting point?
I'm going to step off the LEM now... here we are, Pismo Beach and all the clams we can eat

eSOANEM wrote:If Fonzie's on the order of 100 zeptokelvin, I think he has bigger problems than difracting through doors.

Tyndmyr

Re: Mixing things with different melting points

Postby Tyndmyr » Thu Jan 28, 2016 6:54 pm UTC

Seperation takes time. Yeah, if you keep the temperature between the melting points for a while, you can seperate out stuff, but generally it's not hard to cool something down fast enough for separation to be an issue.

Note that this is partially a function of size, since surface area scales more slowly than volume. The bigger the project, the more interesting this gets.

Envelope Generator

Postby Envelope Generator » Thu Jan 28, 2016 7:06 pm UTC

You probably mean "for separation not to be an issue"? Thanks, that was quick!
I'm going to step off the LEM now... here we are, Pismo Beach and all the clams we can eat

eSOANEM wrote:If Fonzie's on the order of 100 zeptokelvin, I think he has bigger problems than difracting through doors.

slinches
Slinches get Stinches

Postby slinches » Thu Jan 28, 2016 7:25 pm UTC