Economics- bad teacher or dismal science?

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

orangeperson

Economics- bad teacher or dismal science?

Postby orangeperson » Thu Nov 08, 2007 1:07 am UTC

I am a high school economics student.

I have a question about a question on my economics test. The question in question:

Workers in country A receive an increase in wages of 10 percent at the same time the inflation rate in country A is 8 percent. Workers in country B receive an increase in wages of 3 percent and the inflation rate in country B is 1 percent. In which country are workers better off?
a. Country A because their real wages rise by 18 percent.
b. Country A because their real wages rise by 10 percent.
c. Country B because the inflation rate is lower.
d. Neither country because the increase in real wages is the same.

I picked C, and here is my reasoning:

Country----------------------------------A-------------B
Original Wage------------------------$100--------$100
How much a microwave costs-----$100-------$100
Increase in Wage---------------------10%----------3%
Inflation---------------------------------8%------------1%
Final Wage-----------------------------$110--------$103
Final Cost of Microwave------------$108---------$101
How many m'waves buyable?----1+(2/108)---(1+2/101)

In both countries, your real wage goes up by $2. In country B, however, your $2 is worth more. I asked my teacher, and he said that he understood my reasoning, but in economics it is considered the same. He said it would be considered a "rounding error." He told me to stop using mathematics to hide the issue. He said that I have to get into "grad school" to learn about this. He said that since we were studying macroeconomics, we ignored it.

I wish I thought of suggesting that he move to 1920s Germany, and seeing how he likes having his huge wage increase then.