Packs to teach electronics/circuits?

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

shocklocks

Packs to teach electronics/circuits?

Postby shocklocks » Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:14 pm UTC

Hello, i'm currently enrolled in my first year of a 4year engineering degree specializing in mechatronics. While the 2physics papers i'm doing are great for theory I am currently also in an engineering paper which is later going to require me to build and run a robot to do basic commands(basic movement, touch sensors, possibly light sensors etc.) While I have basic knowledge of the software involved in running these sensors it has always been at a level where circuit knowledge/soldering etc has been ignored in favour of teaching principles. While I know in theory how alot of this works I have little practical experience(bar the 3hour weekly labs) on making a working circuit(based on a problem ie set number of volts/amps etc) involving all the basic components. While i've had a bit of fun tinkering with the electronics in my car(resulting in a few nightmares with the fuses and losing the lights on my dashboard); i'd like to if there are any products on the market both with software and auctual parts that can teach me the practical side of electronics/circuit/robot building. As i'm inexperienced it would be nice if it was basic enough to get a hold of quickly yet still be adequate to teach me enough theory to be able to create a running circuit to specifications such as a sound system in my car or a motor with a certain amount of power.

Cheers in advance.

hobbesmaster

Re: Packs to teach electronics/circuits?

Postby hobbesmaster » Wed Jul 30, 2008 4:06 am UTC