Charged Black Hole

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

alexh123456789

Charged Black Hole

Postby alexh123456789 » Sun Feb 08, 2009 5:08 pm UTC

How is it possible for black holes to have an electric charge if nothing can escape them? I've read that electromagnetism is caused by the exchange of virtual photons but how can these escape the black hole?

theoreticallyKat

Re: Charged Black Hole

Postby theoreticallyKat » Sun Feb 08, 2009 5:21 pm UTC

I'm no expert, and I don't know about EM charge of a black hole. But I heard a theory that If a virtual pair of particles is created next to a black hole one may "fall in" and the other may escape, becoming a real particle. i.e. the event horizon is between the two.Image
Even the fluffiest of silver clouds are made of freezing wetness

Spoiler:
doogly wrote:No no no, physics is keeping her!
[Physics authorized me to make this statement. I am not even kidding.]

parallax

Postby parallax » Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:51 pm UTC

There would be an electromagnetic field around the black hole, outside the event horizon.
Cake and grief counseling will be available at the conclusion of the test.

alexh123456789

Postby alexh123456789 » Sun Feb 08, 2009 9:01 pm UTC

My question came from this. I know about hawking radiation but I'm asking how the black hole's electromagnetic field escapes its gravity and is detected. I might just be misinterpreting it though or have some misconception about EMF's

doogly
Dr. The Juggernaut of Touching Himself

Postby doogly » Sun Feb 08, 2009 9:12 pm UTC

The electric field still exists outside because in all your favorite black hole metrics (like RN) the black holes are eternal in the past. You don't take into account information traveling from the interior to the exterior because the field always existed.