Shedding light on the moon

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

Poobar

Shedding light on the moon

Postby Poobar » Fri Apr 17, 2009 9:39 am UTC

I'm doing a PhD where I'm supposed to be making maps of the moon. The trouble is, the instrument I'm using relies on X-ray fluorescence from the lunar surface, and the Sun hasn't started up again into it's next solar cycle. There are pretty much no x-rays coming from the Sun. Therefore there are no x-rays hitting the moon. The lunar surface isn't fluorescing, and the multi-million pound instrument I'm meant to be getting data from is so much space-debris. My dreams of being able to call myself a lunar cartographer are hanging by a thread.

I need help. How can I illuminate the moon with x-rays? Solutions need to be reasonably priced, and hopefully not provoke all out nuclear war.

Nuclear War?

The best solution we in the postgrad office can think of is setting off a chain of nuclear explosions in space, so that the x-ray flashes continually hit the moon. As Saint Obama has just announced an end to the nuclear age, there's a lot of warheads around going spare! I've been searching around of detailed info on the strength and duration of the x-ray flash from nuclear detonations (MI5 probably have a file on me already...) but can't find it anywhere.

Pros: Might work. Cons: Unproven. Possible slight radiation side effects. High cost of launchers. Possible annihilation due to all-out nuclear war.

Any thoughts? Any other suggestions?

Mr_Rose

Re: Shedding light on the moon

Postby Mr_Rose » Fri Apr 17, 2009 10:39 am UTC

Have you considered launching a Xaser satellite, possibly into Lunar orbit?