What have you broken in the lab?

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

Ingolifs

What have you broken in the lab?

Postby Ingolifs » Tue May 25, 2010 6:42 am UTC

They say that experience in the lab is directly proportional to equipment ruined...

I can no longer remember every single piece of glassware I have destroyed, as it has now amounted to quite a bit (i'm an organic chemist), but a couple of things stand out.

I've smashed a 5 litre round bottomed flask that belonged to one of our stills... those things cost like 100 dollars and I was quite mortified afterwards.
I've also ruined a vaccuum pump by attempting to vac off tetrafluoroboric acid. I've never seen plastic corrode like that before.

Although these weren't done by me, I was in the lab at the time:
I've seen a good lithium aluminium hydride fire. It was actually quite pretty - the flames were a mixture of orange and pink, and the bottle containing the LiAlH4 was shooting out sparks rather violently before it died down.

Oh, and i've also experienced an exploding still - Someone was distilling Dichloromethane under argon, but forgot to open up the top tap that lets out the vapour pressure. Needless to day, pressure built up to the point where the thing burst with the sound of 1000 ballons popping, sending glassware all over the place and blowing a hole in the ceiling. A couple of people were hit by glass, but no one was hurt. It took me about a minute to fully regain my hearing though.

What sort of fun breakages or near-death experiences have you guys encountered in the lab?
I belong to the tautologist's school of thought, that science is by definition, science.

Ulc

Re: What have you broken in the lab?

Postby Ulc » Tue May 25, 2010 7:57 am UTC

Glassware beyond count of course.