Counterintuitive Mechanical Devices

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

Rackum

Counterintuitive Mechanical Devices

Postby Rackum » Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:44 pm UTC

As an engineer I love the "oddities" that occur that seem impossible/implausible at first but are actually very real. In that regard, I'd like to start building some of the better ones (smaller scales if necessary, but still working models) to put around my office (DWFTTW, for example) and was wondering if the collective power of the xkcd Science forum could give me some more suggestions. I'd prefer mechanical devices but not absolutely constrained to that type. Thanks in advance.

Kang

Re: Counterintuitive Mechanical Devices

Postby Kang » Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:50 pm UTC

I'm not sure whether that's in any way what you are looking for, but all sorts of 'free labour' pseudo perpetuum-mobiles, like clocks powered by temperature changes could qualify. A few different models are explained (and the originals illustrated) in Perelman's Zanimatelnaya Fisika, which can be found in an older post of XKCD's own blag.

doogly
Dr. The Juggernaut of Touching Himself

Postby doogly » Thu Oct 28, 2010 1:49 am UTC

The south pointing chariot gets significant badass points.
LE4dGOLEM: What's a Doug?
Noc: A larval Doogly. They grow the tail and stinger upon reaching adulthood.

Keep waggling your butt brows Brothers.
Or; Is that your eye butthairs?

Minchandre

Postby Minchandre » Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:27 am UTC

I like the tube that you put warm air into, and you get hot and cold air out.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vortex_tube

LucasBrown

Postby LucasBrown » Thu Oct 28, 2010 4:33 am UTC

One of my favorites is the Peltier module--technically, it's an EM demo, but you can hook up the wires to a motor or something like that.