Heat into work?

For the discussion of the sciences. Physics problems, chemistry equations, biology weirdness, it all goes here.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

ExplodingHat

Heat into work?

Postby ExplodingHat » Wed Jan 26, 2011 7:44 am UTC

http://home.sandiego.edu/~jhwright/Maxw ... ct2002.pdf

The basic idea of the article is:
A p-n junction results in a potential difference between the two ends of the diode (the diffusion of charges being a thermal process). If this diode is wrapped into an incomplete loop, the voltage difference at the ends creates a strong electric field (from which, theoretically, mechanical work can be extracted).

I'm no expert in solid-state, but from what I do know, the reasoning looks disconcertingly... solid. 8)
Anyone in the field with any insights into what else might be at play here?
Some call it luck, I call it "subconscious planning".

++$_
Mo' Money

Re: Heat into work?

Postby ++$_ » Wed Jan 26, 2011 8:50 am UTC

We can make a similar device with a semipermeable membrane (J-I) and some salts. We'll put the membrane in the middle of a tube full of water, add sodium chloride on one side and potassium iodide on the other, and bend the thing into a U shape. If the membrane is permeable only to sodium and iodide, the sodium will flow from the sodium side to the potassium side, and the iodide will flow from the the potassium side to the sodium side, creating a membrane potential. Now, let's close the U shape with another identical semipermeable membrane (this is analogous to the way he closes J-II). What happens?

Well, nothing happens, obviously. The concentrations are at the equilibrium, with the osmotic pressure opposing the electric field and resulting in no net flow of ions. Whoops.