How do you deal with failure?

Things that don't belong anywhere else. (Check first).

Moderators: Moderators General, Prelates, Magistrates

Syntax

How do you deal with failure?

Postby Syntax » Thu Nov 20, 2008 2:54 pm UTC

I've been studying for my first actuarial exam now for about 2 months and I'm realizing that I don't have the ability to pull it off. The exam is this upcoming monday. I guess I can take solace in the fact that around 70% of people fail it on any given test date and I can always re-take it but still; I've worked really hard and this is going to sting.

Zamfir
I built a novelty castle, the irony was lost on some.

Re: How do you deal with failure?

Postby Zamfir » Thu Nov 20, 2008 3:11 pm UTC

Wouldn't it be better to think about the effects of failure after you have done the test and gotten the results?

Gunfingers

Postby Gunfingers » Thu Nov 20, 2008 3:13 pm UTC

Yeah, you're definitely not going into this with the right mindset. You're setting yourself up for failure.

22/7
I'm pretty sure I have "The Slavery In My Asshole" on DVD.

Postby 22/7 » Thu Nov 20, 2008 3:47 pm UTC

If there's no real consequence to failing (going on a record or costing a ton of money to retake or something), I don't see any reason not to take it. Worst case scenario you come out of it with a better understanding of the test you're going to eventually have to pass, which should help with even retaking the test with the same amount of prep as before.
Totally not a hypothetical...

Steroid wrote:
bigglesworth wrote:If your economic reality is a choice, then why are you not as rich as Bill Gates?
Don't want to be.
I want to be!

Quadropus

Postby Quadropus » Thu Nov 20, 2008 4:58 pm UTC

Oh the mirth.
Picture 1.jpg
Picture 1.jpg (12 KiB) Viewed 2469 times

"If I go insane, please don't put your wires in my brain"

Paranoid__Android

Postby Paranoid__Android » Thu Nov 20, 2008 5:00 pm UTC

By killing myself

lol not really but im sure someone might