Nice ways to decorate (ideas wanted)

Things that don't belong anywhere else. (Check first).

Moderators: Moderators General, Prelates, Magistrates

Clumpy

Nice ways to decorate (ideas wanted)

Postby Clumpy » Sun Mar 14, 2010 3:24 am UTC

I'm a college student who is in kind of a malaise with my room and looking for nice ways to decorate and simplify. I'll make this short so I can hopefully get some nice suggestions from everybody else. Here is what I'm doing now:

- Worked the cables for my phone, my scanner and the USB slot for my iPod into an unused sock drawer in my dresser by drilling holes and taping the connectors down. I can charge the phone or iPod in my drawer with enough room to open and close the drawer and still have space on top of my desk to set up the scanner when I'm using it and plug it in.

- Put CD jackets up on the walls with wall putty. They're organized nicely: (Pic) This is my favorite and I feel has made my room feel a lot more personal.

- I built a small bookshelf and put the books I'm not reading in boxes in the hall closet. The bookshelf sits on the shelf in my closet at chest level so I can access the fifty or so books that I more frequently access.

Smaller things, too: Finally picked up a cheap guitar stand for my acoustic, tried to move the computer away from the bed so that I can compartmentalize sleep and dicking around on the internet, and I'm starting to put speakers up around the walls for my iPod speaker so that I can get something of a sound system going.

Does anybody else have any neat ways to make a college apartment something approaching a home? Single occupancy is great but I'd like to put my print on more things, even if it's from ideas from fellow XKCD'ers :). I'm thinking of making an exercise ball chair now...

Clumpy

Re: Nice ways to decorate (ideas wanted)

Postby Clumpy » Sun Mar 14, 2010 8:47 am UTC

This may not be the easiest thread to participate in...

Ashlah

Postby Ashlah » Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:00 am UTC