Light Bulb Suggestions

"Please leave a message at the beep, we will get back to you when your support contract expires."

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

DreadArchon

Light Bulb Suggestions

Postby DreadArchon » Tue Apr 01, 2008 1:33 am UTC

The 60 Hz operation of fluorescent lights sometimes gives me a headache. With the moratorium on incandescents, I'm looking for good light bulb replacement options.

Suggestions?

(I did look around on Google a bit, but I'm not very good at internet research, especially when I'm fuzzy on the details of what I'm looking for.)

enk

Re: Light Bulb Suggestions

Postby enk » Tue Apr 01, 2008 2:04 am UTC

I can't really answer your question, but how do you know that that's the cause of your headache?

It's not like it's blinking the same way CRT monitors do. Yes, the polarity switches, but it's not like the metal cools and stops glowing while the voltage is crossing the zero line. The intensity only varies a little.

Edit: Incorrectness of above text is addressed further down.
Last edited by enk on Wed Apr 02, 2008 4:47 pm UTC, edited 1 time in total.
phlip wrote:Ha HA! Recycled emacs jokes.

taptap
I laughed so hard i fell out of my concubine

Postby taptap » Tue Apr 01, 2008 2:09 am UTC

How about halogen-based bulbs? They have absolutely no flicker and are a lot less dreary than incadesents in terms of color. I quite fancy them due to their brightness, however, the fire hazard associated with them keeps me cautious of how long it stays on...

Davean wrote:Only the bots can see the entire forum the mods have dedicated to bashing taptap for asking questions with obvious answers. It should look good when his next interviewer Googles him before the interview.

DreadArchon

Postby DreadArchon » Tue Apr 01, 2008 2:23 am UTC

taptap wrote:...however, the fire hazard associated with them keeps me cautious of how long it stays on...