Hearthstone

Of the Tabletop, and other, lesser varieties.

Moderators: SecondTalon, Moderators General, Prelates

setzer777
Good questions sometimes get stupid answers

Hearthstone

Postby setzer777 » Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:39 pm UTC

Anyone else playing this? I've been playing for a few months now (started in beta) and really enjoy it, though I often don't have the motivation to keep playing when I'm done with all daily quests and don't have enough gold for arena (downside of progression - feels like a waste when you don't get anything for winning).

I like the simplified (and mostly set in stone) resource system, and the combination of character-specific cards and neutral cards. I remember some critic compared it to fighting game match ups - you get a vague idea of what your opponent likely has based on their character, but there's still a ton of different ways their deck could go.
Meaux_Pas wrote:We're here to go above and beyond.

Too infinity
of being an arsehole

mike-l

Re: Hearthstone

Postby mike-l » Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:57 pm UTC

I've played a fair bit. I find arena much more enjoyable than constructed, and it was nice to get to the point where I could chain them.

It'd be nice if constructed match making had some sort of consideration for deck quality, maybe like game modes with a max number of epics/legendaries. It was frustrating starting out and coming up against vastly superior decks, and it's boring now coming up against vastly inferior decks. The ranks somewhat help but with monthly resets it's still an issue (though I see on release they fix this a bit).

I like the mana system, and I look forward to some new cards and mechanics (while fun it's still pretty shallow). My only pet peeve is cards with random targets/effects. Randomness is important in a card game, but, IMO drawing already accomplishes this and the random effects always feel either frustrating when they go the wrong way or empty when they luck out.