Overwatch

Of the Tabletop, and other, lesser varieties.

Moderators: SecondTalon, Moderators General, Prelates

SlyReaper
inflatable

Overwatch

Postby SlyReaper » Sat Jun 04, 2016 3:41 pm UTC

So, Overwatch seems to be the Game De Jour at the moment. I just started playing last night, and I'm already a little bit addicted. I'm not very good at it. But once in a while, the planets align, and everything falls into place to pull off a cheeky quintuple kill and get my first ever Play of the Game.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6k1q6EdFUwE

Yeah. I'm feeling pretty smug and happy about that.

From what I can gather, there are a lot of people out there who have been playing this thing in the beta, and thus benefit from a great deal of experience. There's a lot of theory-crafting information out there which I can't begin to absorb. Like, which heroes can counter which. What you should change to if the enemy team have X, Y, and Z in their line-up. How and when to use abilities. Combos with other team-mates. I've got about as far as "Pick the one you like the look of, and run around shooting at red people".
What would Baron Harkonnen do?

raudorn

Re: Overwatch

Postby raudorn » Sat Jun 04, 2016 5:06 pm UTC

SlyReaper wrote:I just started playing last night, and I'm already a little bit addicted. I'm not very good at it

The latter will improve. Not sure about the former.

The two most important things to learn are: 1.) A kill doesn't mean anything if it doesn't further the objective 2.) Don't trickle in. Stick together (but don't cluster (unless behind Rein's shield (and even then it might a bad idea))).

SlyReaper
inflatable

Postby SlyReaper » Sat Jun 04, 2016 7:18 pm UTC

Oh yeah, I got that straight away. Doesn't stop me feeling like a boss when I get a lot of kills though.