How do you think we mean?

For the discussion of language mechanics, grammar, vocabulary, trends, and other such linguistic topics, in english and other languages.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

Carlington

How do you think we mean?

Postby Carlington » Sun Jul 05, 2015 1:15 pm UTC

There are a lot of different theories of meaning, and most of them are, almost by definition, untestable. Semantics is frustrating that way, in that it seems like a complete model of meaning cannot be obtained before a complete model of consciousness itself. I mean, we seem to think in meaning (at least, I know I do), so the two concepts, conscious thought and meaning, seem inextricably linked to one another. Nonetheless, there have been rather a lot of ideas put forth about how we might mean, and what it might mean to mean something. I'm not an expert - I've taken an intro level semantics course and done a little bit of reading around - but I've found that there are some ideas about meaning that seem nice and others that seem less so. I wanted a place to talk about that a little bit, and I'm quite interested to hear some other people's ideas and the reasons behind them.