日本語 (Japanese Practice)

For the discussion of language mechanics, grammar, vocabulary, trends, and other such linguistic topics, in english and other languages.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

mekon

日本語 (Japanese Practice)

Postby mekon » Wed Oct 24, 2007 5:46 am UTC

Just wondering, are there any other Japanese speaking folks out there? I'm in my fourth year of Japanese class - and by no means am I an anime nerd, don't fear (though I do like anime) - and would just like to know I'm not alone

はじめまして。僕の名前はニックです。高校4年生です。日本語と計算機科学が大好きですよ。そして、5年武道をしています。どうぞよろしく。
-mekon

"Facts are the enemy of truth"

JoseB

Re: 日本語

Postby JoseB » Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:05 pm UTC

Hallo there! You are not alone! I lived for 4 years in Japan, following a Ph.D. in robotics at Tokyo University between 1995 and 1998. When I arrived there I didn't speak a word of Japanese; they put me in an accelerated Japanese language course for 6 months, after which they sent me into the Ph.D. classes (in Japanese). It was one of those "swim or sink" deals. But supremely interesting!

I try to keep my language somewhat current, talking to my friends in Tokyo from here, reading whatever materials I can get my hands on, watching movies in the original Japanese ("Kwaidan" is a favourite, and the movie "Mishima, a life in 4 chapters" with the Japanese soundtrack is quite good).

Oh, and, who's afraid of the anime otaku? ;)

はじめまして! ホセと申します。ヨロッパの特許局で働きます。どうぞよろしくおねがいします。
JoseB
====================================
NOBODY expects the SPANISH INQUISITION!

miraidesuka

Postby miraidesuka » Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:34 pm UTC

I minored in Japanese in college and lived over there as part of a foreign exchange at Waseda University. I'm planning on going back with the JET program in a few years.

I'm also an anime fan.

I'd post a better introduction, but this computer doesn't speak Japanese.
The cake is a lie.
The cake is a lie.
The cake is a lie.
The cake is a lie.

JoseB