Spræc Englisclæden

For the discussion of language mechanics, grammar, vocabulary, trends, and other such linguistic topics, in english and other languages.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

steewi

Spræc Englisclæden

Postby steewi » Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:01 am UTC

Her we englisclæden sprecaþ. Hwæt hycgest þu abutan leorniendes englisces? Arædst þu þa gaderung englisces?
Ic eom niwan leorniende englisclæden, and ic wille þa eow min hilpaþ mid mine læstena grammaticræftes.

Translation: Here we speak Old English. What do you think of learning Old English? Do you read Old English texts?
I ame newly learning Old English, and I want you to help me with my sins of grammar.

I'm much better at reading, I swear. Unfortunately, I'm very new to Anglo-Saxon composition (as in I started just a couple of minutes ago). I'd love some more practice. I'm going through the Anglo-Saxon chronicle with my reading group at the moment. We've previously done bits of Beowulf, Ælfric's Colloquy, Wulfstan's Address, and a couple of other little bits. I won't personally object if the thread leaks into Middle English a bit, but my liking's as much for Old.

For want of something else to do, perhaps I could post some quotes from PubDom sites (wikisource has a bunch), and have some collaborative translation.

Some helpful links:
http://www.jrrvf.com/~glaemscrafu/texts/eadigbeothu-a.htm Tolkien's Anglo-Saxon poetry (and other languages' poetry)
http://www.heorot.dk/beo-links.html (lots of broken links, some very good ones)
http://www8.georgetown.edu/departments/medieval/labyrinth/display.cfm?Action=View&Category=English,%20Old
http://home.comcast.net/~modean52/ (dictionary - Bosworth and Toller + extras MnE<-->OE)
http://www.kuroyumes-developmentzone.com/appleyard/nasc/nasc.htm (The New Anglo-Saxon Chronicle)
http://www.tha-engliscan-gesithas.org.uk/ (basic stuff with a slightly Pagan angle)
http://ang.wikipedia.org/ Anglo-Saxon wikipedia