Looking for build advice: inexpensive gaming desktop

The magic smoke.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

Dropzone

Looking for build advice: inexpensive gaming desktop

Postby Dropzone » Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:17 am UTC

So, it looks like my laptop's graphics card has finally died (for real this time). A replacement card would be very expensive, I'm no longer in a situation where I need portability, and I'd been wanting a more powerful machine for a while anyway; so I've decided that now would be a good time to build myself a new desktop. I've never built a machine from scratch before, and I don't follow hardware news too closely, so I could do with some advice on a build.

I'm looking to put together a relatively inexpensive machine (probably around £600 to £700), mainly for gaming. I have a rough idea of what components would be appropriate, but what I've got so far is really just a first draft of a build - feel free to suggest major changes if it looks completely screwed up.

CPU
As far as I can tell, the Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition (going for around £90) is a good deal for this sort of machine, right? The third core would be especially helpful for rendering in POV-Ray, which I do a fair amount of.

Graphics Card