Need advice on a new desktop computer...

The magic smoke.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

xixheartxyoux

Need advice on a new desktop computer...

Postby xixheartxyoux » Wed Jun 23, 2010 4:49 am UTC

Ok. For the past 4 years I've put up with the quirks from my Dell Inspiron E1505 laptop and I've had about enough. This one still works well enough to be portable, so I don't need another laptop, but I'd like some advice on a desktop. I'm a math grad student. Basically I need something reliable and relatively inexpensive. I'm looking to spend about $600 (I'm in the US). I do not want to buy another Dell as I've had numerous problems with their "Award-winning" customer service and the laptop I have is basically garbage. I could probably figure out how to build my own, as I've taken mine apart a time or two. What pre-built laptops do you recommend?? And what sites/guidance can you suggest should I decide to built my own? I've browsed the sites of the big name brands I could think of and I'm not really happy with what they offer. And I get to the point of choosing the hardware beyond memory and get confused...I really really appreciate any guidance. :)

“The highest form of pure thought is in mathematics”--Plato

PhoenixEnigma

Re: Need advice on a new desktop computer...

Postby PhoenixEnigma » Wed Jun 23, 2010 4:59 am UTC

Are you looking for a desktop, or a laptop? It sounds like desktop, but your post isn't entirely clear - you do ask about prebuilt laptops as well.

Anyways.

What do you/will you use your new computer for? What's the most demanding program you expect to run? What do you most like/dislike about your current computer? Do you already have a monitor/speakers/keyboard/mouse? If not, would that have to be included in your budget? What operating system do you want to run, and will that need to be purchased as well?

The esteemed posters of this fora can certainly help you, but a little more direction is going to be helpful.