Graphics card upgrade for newb

The magic smoke.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

Captain Elson

Graphics card upgrade for newb

Postby Captain Elson » Fri Nov 23, 2012 6:49 am UTC

I have a Lenovo H420 PC, and sometime in December I'd like to install a GeForce GT 430 graphics card. This is my first time messing with hardware, and the card is all I'd be doing - don't have money for much else.

Anyway, would I have to worry about power or cooling issues with the new card? Would it, in fact, not fit in the case? Am I getting the wrong card? Is this entire goal, in fact, pointless? And such questions.

Sizik

Re: Graphics card upgrade for newb

Postby Sizik » Mon Nov 26, 2012 8:13 pm UTC

I suppose the most annoying problem (and the easiest one to check for) is to see if anything is plugged into the PCIe x16 slot on your motherboard (based on the pictures available on Newegg, you only have one of them). Just check the topmost PCI slot (the four slots at the bottom of the back of the case). If it's just metal and has no ports or anything on it, you're good.

The second most important thing is to check if your power supply can handle the new card. The GT 430 has a minimum power requirement of 300W, so you should check your power supply to see if it can supply that much. Based on a quick google search, it's likely you have a 280W power supply, so it's possible that it could work, but upgrading might be a better idea.
she/they
gmalivuk wrote:
King Author wrote:If space (rather, distance) is an illusion, it'd be possible for one meta-me to experience both body's sensory inputs.
Yes. And if wishes were horses, wishing wells would fill up very quickly with drowned horses.

Tango 51

Postby Tango 51 » Wed Nov 28, 2012 5:32 am UTC