Explosive Power.

The Food Forum's Evil Twin. Trying to lose weight or get in shape? Tips, encouragement, status reports, and so forth go here.
Disclaimer: Unless otherwise stated, we are not health professionals. Take advice with salt.

Moderators: Mighty Jalapeno, Moderators General, Prelates

Peanutchair

Explosive Power.

Postby Peanutchair » Sun Aug 30, 2009 11:00 pm UTC

So I've been doing Karate for around 5 years now but have only very recently decided that I now want to get serious. At the moment my technique and kata are all fine, but what I am terrible at is sparring. I'm slow, scared and clumsy.

I'm coming along well with training strength and to combat my fear to getting hit I'm, well, letting myself get hit a lot.

But speedwise I'm really lacking. It's not that I don't have the build for it, in fact my teacher has always told me I'd be more of a speed person than a strength person. It's just that my opponent always sees me coming. Always. It's like I'm really slow off the mark and speed up as I complete the technique. In fact, by the end of the technique it's pretty damn fast, but they're already long gone.

What I'd really like is for my techniques to (within reason), start as fast as they finish. For this to happen I need explosive power, I need really good acceleration.

So, if you're able to help out I'd be incredibly grateful. Exercises, tips, anything. Thanks.
Richard Dawkins was put on this Earth to test our faith. Like fossils... and facts.
-
Stewart Lee.

Mokele

Re: Explosive Power.

Postby Mokele » Mon Aug 31, 2009 1:07 am UTC

Technically, speed and strength come together (type 2b muscle fibers) - the tradeoff is these vs stamina (type 1 muscle fibers).

However, I suspect your problem isn't muscular. I've seen the same problem with lots of those new to sparring - you're 'telegraphing', unintentionally moving in such a way that you let your opponent know what's coming.