3 Month Diet/Exercise Plan (need advice)

The Food Forum's Evil Twin. Trying to lose weight or get in shape? Tips, encouragement, status reports, and so forth go here.
Disclaimer: Unless otherwise stated, we are not health professionals. Take advice with salt.

Moderators: Mighty Jalapeno, Moderators General, Prelates

cyberblade

3 Month Diet/Exercise Plan (need advice)

Postby cyberblade » Mon Mar 08, 2010 9:06 am UTC

Bit of a lengthy post here-but hopefully it will cover most of the pertinent information.

When I finished high school (a few years ago) I was 6', 170 lbs, and about 8% body fat. Now I've been sitting behind a desk for a few years, and I'm 235 lbs, and I don't want to know what percentage of that is fat.

My cholesterol is a little high, there's some family history of heart disease, and most of all I hate looking like this and getting tired so easily. It needs to end. I need to really put forth the effort, and accomplish something. Couple that with the fact that I have a family reunion and plans to meet up with high school classmates this summer, and I need to do something now. That gives me 3 months for this part, after which I plan to re-evaluate, and set new goals for myself for the rest of the year-but for now I'm focused on the next three months.

I don't know what, if anything, is realistic as far as weight loss-30 lbs or so would be nice in 3 months-but I'm more concerned about losing my stomach and maybe gaining a little muscle definition in my arms (I don't know if that's even possible in this time frame though).

The biggest problems I have are these: