Hanners' New and Improved Workout

The Food Forum's Evil Twin. Trying to lose weight or get in shape? Tips, encouragement, status reports, and so forth go here.
Disclaimer: Unless otherwise stated, we are not health professionals. Take advice with salt.

Moderators: Mighty Jalapeno, Moderators General, Prelates

studyinserendipity
~Hanners~

Hanners' New and Improved Workout

Postby studyinserendipity » Tue Nov 13, 2012 3:39 am UTC

Hi everyone! I've been thinking about how to diversify my exercise regime by adding some weightlifting to my copious amounts of cardio and would appreciate advice.

I've been doing tae-kwando for about 4 years and do mostly cardio stuff during class besides the occasional push-ups or burpees and yoga that I do on the side. Recently my hip was bothering me, so instead of going to class, I'd stretch and check out the (extremely modest) weight room at the dojang. There's a rowing machine, a stationary bike, a bench, and lots of free weights (or hand weights? the ones that you hold in your hands, no bars here.) I ran through some basic arm exercises that I knew - bicep curls and seated bench press and that tricep thing where you put the weight over your head. Now that my hip is feeling better, I can go back to class, but I can tell the weightlifting is making my punches stronger and I can tell I'm gaining muscle, even after only a week. I don't want to lose that.