Motivation for internships/job search hoopjumping

The school experience. School related queries, discussions, and stories that aren't specific to a subject.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

Cradarc

Motivation for internships/job search hoopjumping

Postby Cradarc » Tue Mar 10, 2015 2:23 am UTC

I'm going to be graduating college this coming Winter and I still haven't gotten any "real world experience". Everyone is saying I should, and I kind of know I should, but it's just so difficult to get motivated. I am studying electrical engineering.
I love learning, I love studying new things and figuring out how they work. I even love spending hours (sometimes skipping meals) debugging circuit/code if it's for an interesting project. What I don't like is networking, writing resumes/cover letters, social norms that serve no practical purpose, and people who don't straight out tell me what they think.
Internships and entry level positions all seem boring as heck. Usually the descriptions are something vague like "test software", or "debug hardware", or "technical support for (some product)". When I talk to people at career fairs, they just smile, look at my resume, and tell me to apply online. On rare occasions I actually get to talk to engineers instead of HR people, and even then they are very vague because of intellectual property issues.

Rant about things I wish I could say:
"How the heck is my resume telling you anything? For all you know I could have BSed all that."
"Look, take me for two days with no expenses other than your time, if you don't like what you get, kick me out and never consider me again."
"Yeah, I have Matlab and C++ experience, but I look up a lot of stuff online so I don't know if you count that as being 'experienced'."
"No you are not my favorite company in the world. I need an internship, and your position looks interesting."
"Do you really think your company is that awesome because it sounds like you're reciting script."