What should I do with my life?

The school experience. School related queries, discussions, and stories that aren't specific to a subject.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

nealh

What should I do with my life?

Postby nealh » Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:04 am UTC

I majored in math and minored in cognitive science at a liberal arts college. I spent a year teaching at a high school, but I'm not that committed to young-uns. Now I've spent a year in the business world as a good little Dilbert, yuck. I didn't go to grad school initially because everyone said it's like undergrad but more stressful and unlike undergrad you should actually know what you want to do before going. Well I fail on the second count and undergrad was hyper-stressful for me, but now I'm reconsidering since everything else pretty much sucks.

So this is me:
-I'm not "good at math". I work my ass off, but I don't "just see the answer". I know some people who do. I am so jealous.
-Lately I've been trying to write a browser based game. Emergence and A-Life are themes.
-Genetic Algorithms are a huge turn-on of mine.
-I also love to write (fiction, non-fiction, whatever). I've even considered creative writing grad school, but I like food and shelter and wonder how I might afford these things.
-I'm not opposed to teaching. Maybe I would like it at the college level. Do professors have any time outside of work? I get the impression they work like dogs. I'm kind of sick of that sort of thing.
-I want to know what happens when the parameters of genetic algorithms or hill climbers or simulated annealing get optimized by other such algorithms. Have people studied that sort of thing?
-I'd like my work to be applicable to something. Yeah that'd be nice too.
-And can I get that all on a silver platter, preferably to go? That'd be great, thanks.

Pirate.Bondage

Re: What should I do with my life?

Postby Pirate.Bondage » Wed Nov 19, 2008 2:42 pm UTC