Grauduate School Application / Search Woes

The school experience. School related queries, discussions, and stories that aren't specific to a subject.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

Nyarlathotep
Not a god. Not even a titan.

Grauduate School Application / Search Woes

Postby Nyarlathotep » Sat Sep 12, 2009 8:31 pm UTC

I think this can be a general thread for everyone's "OH GOD, I GRADUATED WITH AN UNDERGRAD DEGREE IN X, WHAT DO I DO NOW?!" thread.

I am going to start with my own woes.

I am an English major with minors in East Asian Studies and Studio Art. I am notorious for being horrifically indecisive and not having a clear idea of what I want, ever. As an example of this, I was an EAS major initially becuase I couldn't pick a major and wanted to do something in every department, and EAS would allow me to take classes in History, Art History, Sociology, Theatre Arts, Comparative Lit, Linguistics, and Poly Sci.

Then I got to Japan, realized that I sucked at languages and would never go anywhere with such a degree, and changed my major. In my junior year. To a major that I had not taken a single class in simply becuase I went "Well, I write okay. I guess."