improving your work ethic?

The school experience. School related queries, discussions, and stories that aren't specific to a subject.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

redgrowth

improving your work ethic?

Postby redgrowth » Mon May 03, 2010 7:06 pm UTC

I have a poor work ethic, which is hurting my GPA and limiting my future options (I'm a rising senior in college). How do I go about improving my work ethic and self-discipline? Please don't say "just do it" because that's not a very useful answer. If I could "just do it" I would have done it already.

My problem is multi-faceted. I don't think I work efficiently, so on the days when I do work hard there is little positive reinforcement. I don't manage my time well even when I'm studying. I'll spend too much time on a subject and then not have enough time for my other classes. Also, I often study parts of the subject that interest me, but the teacher does not care about. For example, in organic chemistry instead of focusing on learning the reactions I would get side tracked on the nitty gritty details of various solvents.

I have ADHD, and I can't use any of the medication due to bad side effects. Because of this I get distracted easily and sometimes forget that I even have work to do. I'm also just recovering from a conditioned dislike of learning/schooling (thanks US education system), and I sometimes still get this knot in my gut when I think about schoolwork even in a class that I enjoy. I also give up too easily when things get frustrating, or alternatively I'll waste an entire day unproductively trying to solve a problem. Basically it's a lack of balance, or poor evaluation skills in that I have trouble telling if the current approach is completely wrong, or if more effort will yield a solution.