What is the deal with medical schools and community college?

The school experience. School related queries, discussions, and stories that aren't specific to a subject.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

Ohlawdy

What is the deal with medical schools and community college?

Postby Ohlawdy » Wed Sep 28, 2011 3:19 am UTC

First of all, I am in the US. I know the rest of the world might work differently with my issue.
I am in my last year of high school and planning on a Biology major with pre-med curriculum. I love the biological sciences so if medical school doesn't pan out then at least I always have biology. However, everyone is pushing me go to a community college, for reasons that I will explain later, but I also hear conflicting reports, some even from medical schools themselves, that I should go straight to a 4-year university and skip doing 2 years at a community college.