Translating retail experience?

The school experience. School related queries, discussions, and stories that aren't specific to a subject.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

lucrezaborgia

Translating retail experience?

Postby lucrezaborgia » Sun Jan 08, 2012 10:42 pm UTC

Weird title sorry! I didn't know what else to put. Here is the deal...I'm a non-traditional student with a ton of retail and other service industry experience. I'd like to get a masters in Library and Information Science with a focus on archival work. Currently, I'm a junior and am starting to look for internships relating to either library or archival work. A lot of these internships are asking for resumes and cover letters and I'm just baffled as to how to tailor my work experience to these applications!

Jobs I have had:

After-school care via the B&G Club as well as a city park
Clothing retail - both sales and back of house operations such as stockrooms and best known for turning cluterfuck stockrooms into pristine closets organized by size, color, brand, style, etc.
Relay operator
Florist
Produce clerk
Cashier

big boss

Re: Translating retail experience?

Postby big boss » Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:13 am UTC

Usually previous work doesn't matter that much at the job level your looking at, afterall everyone starts off with little experience. You just need to figure out what skills the internships your looking at require and then figure out how your previous jobs helped you develop those skills. What matters more is if you have a solid GPA and have good interviewing skills over previous job experience, at least from what I gather from what you posted.
"Starbuck, what do you hear?"
"Nothing but the Rain."

KestrelLowing

Postby KestrelLowing » Fri Jan 20, 2012 6:38 pm UTC

I'd talk to your career center/adviser. They'll have a better idea of how to make all your experience actually relate to the types of internships you're attempting to get.

Bakemaster
pretty nice future dick