First-year Physics Major. Not sure where to go from here

The school experience. School related queries, discussions, and stories that aren't specific to a subject.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Prelates, Moderators General

First-year Physics Major. Not sure where to go from here

Postby cameron432 » Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:00 am UTC

Hey all, I'm in a bit of a predicament. I absolutely adore physics, which is why I'm majoring in it (alongside Math). This is my first semester taking upper-level physics courses (i.e. everything but the Intro courses that Engineers also take). Currently, I'm enrolled in Intro to Modern (which is easy), and Electricity & Magnetism (which... isn't).

I realized that I have to drop E&M, because I have about 15 points out a total of 100. But I just don't know where to go from this. I worked my butt off on the most recent homework assignment, thought I kind of knew what I was doing, expected hopefully a 50%, but no, I got sub 10%. I just don't really get all of the concepts for the class. It's more difficult than any class I've taken. Because of that, I put WAY more work into the assignment than I ever have for any other class, and I was just wrong. I straight up did the problems completely wrong and got completely wrong answers.

My question is, am I just... too dumb for a Physics major? I love it and there's nothing else I really want to do, but I don't understand what's going on. The other course, I'm completely fine with, but I don't get E&M.
cameron432

Re: First-year Physics Major. Not sure where to go from here

Postby masher » Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:43 am UTC

Do you have a problem with the maths, or with the physics?

You may just have an issue in grasping the physical concepts behind the maths; you can solve them correctly, but you start from the wrong point.
masher

Postby cameron432 » Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:48 am UTC